Ah, those Moscow Nights!

I recently heard Stephen Hough playing his own arrangement of composer Vasily Solovyov-Sedoi’s song Moscow Nights on the radio.  He had used it as an encore piece in this year’s BBC Proms.

Here is a version of it – just listen to those gorgeous chords and sweeping lines:

Of course, he is not the only one to perform this iconic song.

Here is the Red Army Choir – this clip has the advantage of subtitles:

And here is the Boys Choir of the Glinka Choral College.  Beautiful harmonies:

I love this next version because of the audience – they are clearly loving and singing along with the soloists:

Finally, here’s a famous toe-tapping rendition by the wonderful Kenny Ball and his Jazzmen:

 

It is marvellous, hearing all these different versions, each with their own passions and identity – that’s the joy of music, folks!   🙂

5 thoughts on “Ah, those Moscow Nights!

  1. Wonderful! Wonderful! It wasn’t until I listened to your first version that I recognised the song. I am old enough to remember hearing Kenny Ball’s rendition on the radio when I was very little but I never knew what it was called. I loved all the versions – all different – but the performers were joined by their love of the words and melody. I really enjoyed the reaction of the audience to Anna Netrebko and the gorgeous Dmitri Hvorostovsky!

    1. It’s very catchy, isn’t it – I can’t get it out of my head and I am driving my husband mad with absent-mindedly whistling a few bars all the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

