…the moment is supreme.” – Franz Schubert

Franz Schubert wrote a huge range of classical music during his short lifetime (1797-1828).  There are two chamber pieces I would like to highlight in this post.

Why have I picked these out of the many hundreds I could have chosen?  I think they represent a fascinating contrast between lighter and darker moments and moods.

The first is the Piano Quintet in A Major, D667, more famously known as the ‘Trout Quintet’.  Scored for piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass, Schubert wrote this in 1819 at the age of 22, although it was not to be published until 1829, the year after his death.  The Wiki entry on this work is pretty comprehensive about the technical aspect of the work, if you would like to explore this aspect in more depth.  This link also includes an explanation for the work’s nickname.

What I like so much about the composition is the light, playful tone of the piece.  It has plenty of lush melodies and rich chords.  But overall, there is air within the music.  Even in the slower second movement (Andante), there is no sense of weight, simply languid lingering.

Here is a sparkling performance by Das Forellen Quintett:

The second piece for your consideration is Schubert’s final chamber work – the String Quintet in C Major, D965 (Op Post 163).  Again, this Wiki entry is impressive in its analysis.  As it points out, this work is often regarded as Schubert’s finest chamber piece, and indeed many see it as the finest composition in the whole of the chamber music genre.

When you listen to this stunning performance by the Afiara Quartet (including a very interesting interview with Joel Krosnick), bear in mind that Schubert was just months away from death when he completed it.  We cannot know if he knew or even suspected his fate.  But it seems to me that at the very least this work is laden with the wisdom of the ages, compared with the Trout, which is full of optimism and hope.

I always admire the ability of a single individual to produce such a range of work.  As such, I would suggest that there is no choice between these two pieces.  Both compositions are ones to treasure in your music collection, to bring out often, and enjoy as sublime examples of the heights to which the greatest composers can soar.

7 thoughts on ““For hearts and for minds….

  1. I like the new look! I love coming here for the variety of music you introduce and reintroduce to me. The sun is shining, the music is playing and I find it unfathomable how any composer can work out how to get all those instruments to create something amazing in tandem.

    1. So pleased you are pleased with the new appearance! I am still getting used to it – not sure if it is a bit ‘shouty’ for the relatively calm tone of this blog. But it’s good to experiment and push boundaries, as we have said before. I had not factored in the snow element, as you have mentioned in your other comment – don’t know if I can live without that, and this theme does not support it …

      1. Shouty is good, it makes people sit up and takes notice and I think is a good to offest the music as well, it makes your blog more ‘3D’ if that makes sense. It’s a bit harsh that the theme doesn’t support snow but at least you can rechange come the Winter again.

      2. continued helpful feedback, thanks so much. I feel reassured and will live with it for a while. It is certainly starting to feel calmer now that I am a bit more used to it, although I had better not get too attached if I might need to ditch it for snow in due course… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.