“Music is…..

….the universal language of mankind” – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Hmmmm.  What do you think about this?

If I were sat listening to a beautiful piece of classical music, I would probably agree wholeheartedly.

But I can think of at least one circumstance where this statement can be challenged – when music accompanies dance and other visual arts.

I have written many times in this blog about the beauty and emotion of ballet, and my love of film soundtracks, for example.

More recently, some of you will have seen my posts on other social media platforms, about how I became a quivering wreck watching the most fabulous version of one of my now favourite tracks, Uptown Funk.  Check out this, where a very clever person has taken clips from famous dance films and spliced them together very expertly to go with the song.  He has done it so carefully and precisely, it makes me want to weep with joy every time I see it.  How creative; how dedicated; how wonderful to bring this into to the world.

On a completely different, ahem, note, have a listen to this track.  Hollow Talk by Choir of Young Believers is the soundtrack for the TV programme The Bridge – a thriller set in Sweden and Denmark, now on its third series.  It is an excellent drama, and the music fits the tense, stark, bleak nature of the setting perfectly.

I love it when music and visuals combine to enhance one’s overall experience.  There is plenty of wonderful music which stands alone and can carry Longfellow’s definition.  But that is not always the end of the story and I don’t think we need to confine ourselves within such boundaries. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on ““Music is…..

  1. Mixing media is great, I know an author who does a cd to accompany his books which is pretty awesome. Lord of the Rings had the perfect soundtrack for making things epic as well to name but one soundtrack.

    Mixing media encourages people to imagine more and create different things, long trips in lifts would also be boring without the piped in music lol.

    1. Ooooh – great choice of soundtrack right there. We have been known to spend the whole of Boxing Day watching all the Lord of the Rings films back to back – epic!! One of my favourite books is Vikram Seth’s An Equal Music, and a double CD of classical music was produced to go with that one. As you say, mixed media opens up all manner of possibilities 😀

  2. I loved the Uptown Funk video you shared with us on Twitter – it really was so well put together. And I agree that mixing media is often so clever. It makes you reconsider each art form in a different way and certainly consider the complete creation through a new and exciting perspective.

Leave a Reply

