Video Happenstance

I had an interesting chat over the ether with one of my esteemed fellow bloggers (check out his brilliant Book To The Future blog) following my last post about music videos.

He drew my attention to the engaging and story-like video of a group like Smashing Pumpkins.  Have a look at Tonight, Tonight – what a lot of effort must have gone into this!  There is so much depth to the track, let alone the video.  A really good example of the video enhancing an already good song.

When I first searched for this track on YouTube, the Google fairies decided to sprinkle some magic dust.  I always like a bit of sparkly happenstance (I have written about this in a previous post).  Instead of the track I had asked for, up came Radiohead’s Creep.  Specifically, as you can see, it is the version accompanying an excerpt from the film …And They Lived Happily Ever After.

Here we have another example of a great track with a visual story.  I know nothing about the film.  But the 4:15 minutes of YouTube footage is a mini-saga in itself; full of crackling tension; possibility; highs and lows.

(And, let’s face it, at risk of being a tad superficial, there’s nothing wrong with spending a bit of time looking at the lovely Charlotte Gainsborough and the gorgeous Johnny Depp!)

So both these tracks go on my wish list, and the film goes on my LoveFilm ‘to watch’ list. Don’t you just love tripping over such great new things? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Video Happenstance

  1. I spent so many hours as a young adolescent listening to those two tracks! I realized I didn’t have them on my iPod (how odd). The movie looks good too. I will add it to my list.

Leave a Reply

