Anything but plain sailing

Which is the best band you have never heard of?

I suspect there are a myriad answers to this question.  One possible taker of the crown is the pop-rock band The Silver Seas from Nashville, Tennessee.

This band could be the love-child of Keane, The Style Council, The Smiths, Fleetwood Mac, Steely Dan and ELO with a fairy-dust sprinkling of U2, Snow Patrol and the Kaiser Chiefs.

In other words, their music is great.

From my description, I could well understand some puzzlement, however.  If their music is so much like all those other groups, how can it be so good?  Have they not got their own voice? Are they not original?

All excellent questions.

The thing is this. Like a lot of my music, I have only listed to my one Silver Seas album, Chateau Revenge (Red) a couple of times now. But it feels like I was born with these tracks.  They seem so complete. So perfect. So me.

I can’t really tell whether or not they are original and you know what?  I don’t care.  All I know is that they remind me of lots of other music which I really enjoy.  And that makes me want to listen their stuff even more.

Here are a couple of my favourite tracks which will give you a flavour of their style:

And as an added bonus, particularly for any Breaking Bad fans out there, here are the Silver Seas boys performing Catch Yer Own Train from the original TV series.

I will definitely be getting their other albums. In the meantime, I’ll be happy to rock my boat on out over these groovy waters. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Anything but plain sailing

Leave a Reply

