Back to basics

I’ve been rather poorly over the last few months. I say this not for sympathy, but by way of explanation for my bloggy silence.  Not only have I not been in a position to get my head around doing any writing; I have not even been listening to any music to write about.  I find it a bit strange not to have turned to music for strength, solace, inspiration or whatever.  But there you go.  Life can be strange sometimes.

Anyway, I’m well on the mend these days.  There are all sorts of signs which are telling me this, not least a growing enthusiasm to get back to this blog and finish my romp through my alphabet of musical hits and misses.

But I have found it a bit difficult to plunge back in where I left off.  So I decided to review of the music I have been writing about over the last couple of years.  And I have pushed the boat out (get me) by making a playlist of many of my most favourite tracks.  They form a pretty groovy bunch, I can tell you.  And it is a great way to put a musical smile back on my face.

Many of the songs I have already written about, including:

  • Kylie Minogue’s Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
  • Pink Martini’s Donde Estas, Yolanda?
  • Abba’s Dancing Queen and Waterloo
  • Tango music by The Gotan Project and Fujiya & Miyagi

There are also plenty that I have yet to cover.  And I treated myself to a new track – yes, I know I am not supposed to get new music, but some of you will be aware that I break this rule from time to time.

I could not resist Mark Ronson’s Uptown Funk (featuring Bruno Mars). A fabulous addition to my list, making 35 songs in all – 2 hours and 24 minutes of toe-tapping’, dum-dummin’, head-noddin’, shoulder-shakin’ pleasure.

What better way to put back a Spring in my step – right on queue for the beautiful weather we have started to have here in bonny Scotland. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Back to basics

  1. So good to see your new cheery blog. Another funky step on your road to recovery. You need to market that playlist!

  2. Uptown Funk is so catchy, I agree! I was sitting in a cafe and it came on and everyone started moving their feet or bopping their heads to the music. That really made me smile!

    Wishing you continued recovery. I hope the warmer months make things easier for you.

    Always lovely to read a new post from you 🙂

  3. Glad to see you back again and feeling better. Music is great and I was listening to a load of eclectic tracks the other day from The Handsome Family to the theme tune from Airwolf, you can’t beat a crazy mix of music to get the blood pumping.

Leave a Reply

