Round the bends to somewhere else please

This post is supposed to be about the band Radiohead.  I have two of their albums and have been listening to them in order to write about them for you.  So perhaps the post is not not about them after all.  But about why I don’t want to write about them.

Radiohead, as I am sure you do not need me to tell you are a very successful English rock band.  Their Wiki entry is full of superlatives about their achievements, particularly during the 1990s.  I was late to catch on to their music, and bought two of their 90s albums The Bends and OK Computer on the recommendation of a work colleague who was something of an afficionado.  I then did my usual Leapy-thing and did not listen to either one.

Until now.

I engaged with both albums a couple of times but could not warm to the music.  It is pleasant enough, but lacked depth for me.  And I kept noticing that my mind was not on the job.  It constantly wandered on to other things.  Now, there could be a couple of reasons for this:

1.  in a shameless bit of self-promotion, I have been following through on another project I have been meaning to sort out for a while.  This has involved setting up another wordpress blog relating to one of my other hobbies – see www.lizidesigns.com if you are interested – and I may have been a bit distracted

2.  the next entry in my iPhone list is infinitely more desirable to listen to, and I couldn’t help sensing that ‘life’s too short’ feeling about spending too much time on music that does not lift one’s spirits when there is so much else to get through

I haven’t had a shedding of music for ages, so it was only a matter of time before we arrived at another point where I had to say goodbye to something in my listings.  Never mind – just wait to see what’s around the corner and you’ll understand where I’ve been coming from.

7 thoughts on “Round the bends to somewhere else please

  1. I have that with certain books at times- it just never feels like the right time to read them even if I’ve heard that they are great books. And then, sometimes years later!, I return to them and it just feels right and fall in love with them. It has to be the right time! (or sometimes it’s possible to not just warm to something as well, of course).

    I never liked listening to just one Radiohead song but always need to listen to a whole album at once- I think it creates a certain mood or something?

    1. Yes, you are absolutely right about the parallel with books. Maybe I should not be too hasty in taking the albums off my iPhone, but see whether they grow on me in a different way in the future.

  2. I must confess that I never heard of them!!! I have figured out that I don’t have time to read all of the books or listen to all of the music, so I’ll start with the ones I like first and then, if I have time….I’ll go to my second choices…
    BTW I love your new website/blog. You are one of those multi-talented artists!

  3. I sympathise. I know they are supposed to be one of the greats of our age, but I find Thom Yorke’s voice cuts through you like a knife, making them a difficult listen. I do like Fake Plastic Trees, though.

Leave a Reply

