Mozart was always going to be a hard act to follow – my last post was the culmination of a magnificent concentration of some of the Best Music Ever Written.  In all our born puff, as my mother might say.

So I have found Mumford & Sons and their first album Sigh No More hard to love – but I still like it.

As you will see from this article in the UK’s Telegraph written in December 2012, they are very popular in exalted political circles on both sides of The Pond.  They also come across as a nice bunch of lads.  But what about the actual music?

It’s like any good rock/folk music should be – full of passion, story-telling, accomplished acoustic instrument playing; and close-harmony singing.

Have a listen to their Grammy-nominated Little Lion Man (clean version); Roll away your stone; Timshel (this is a great acoustic live version, showing off their genuine talents as musicians); and After the Storm.

I need to be able to come at this album from another angle to get past the Mozart thing.  I’ll probable get their second, Babel, too, at the end of Project LT.  And then, if the Telegraph article is anything to go by, I’ll be in very esteemed company indeed.

7 thoughts on “The music to play when the President comes for drinks?

  1. I must confess that I never heard of Mumford and sons. I can see why they are well received – the lyrics for “After the Storm.” go back to the sixties, when people believed great strides were made for human rights. Yesterday, I listened to John Lennon’s “Imagine” which goes hand-in-hand with “there will come a time.” I think that we continue to make progress, but there is much for to do. And our struggle for human rights will continue long past our timeline.

    “And there will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears.
    And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.
    Get over your hill and see what you find there,
    With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.”

    Another excellent post!!!

  2. Oh, I feel better reading that Clanmother had never heard of Mumford and Sons either. I thought I might be the only one not to know them. I have had a fun time listening to all the clips. Particularly like After the Storm.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.