Wabi Sabi

Here’s an experiement in the form of a poem:

Deception –
Boplicity, Israel!
Chance it, Dear Old Stockholm,
Woody ‘n’ You.
 
How deep is the ocean?
Ray’s idea, Kelo,
Well you needn’t love
for sale – Somethin’ else.
 

What do you think?  Am I a candidate for the next T S Eliot prize?

Before we get ahead of ourselves, let me unfurrow any puzzled brows.  I have been listening to Miles Davis’ The Collection and here we have all the titles of the tracks from that album put into a poem format by yours truly.  With track names like these, it seemed like the obvious thing to do!

I could not find a link to my album for you. But I have found this link to the Perfect collection – an extended and comprehensive set of Davis’s work which includes my tracks and is clearly something for the Project LT wish list.  In the meantime, let me just tell you that the tracks on my album are, I think, meant to represent the essence of Miles Davis and his music.  If such a thing can be captured in only a short listing.

I have said before that I do not know nearly as much about jazz as I would like to.  An education for the future.  This is, however, exactly the sort of jazz that I like.  I have tended previously to play it simply as background music.  It has been so fascinating now to listen to it properly though.  I always thought of jazz as free and easy.  Improvised music roaming wherever the musicians wanted to go.

I am a classically trained musician.  This means I am hard wired to play all the right notes in the right order as written on the page.  Improvisation does not come at all easy to me.  I think Harry, from the film When Harry Met Sally would call me the musical version of ‘Miss Hospital Corners’.

It turns out, on close inspection, that Mr Davis’s music is also carefully crafted.  He and his band play tightly together.  This is not accidental music.  It is not imperfect.  Each note, each rhythm is precisely placed, anticipated, felt, thought about.  It’s no different from Mozart.  So there is hope for me yet as a jazz pianist.

But I still wouldn’t mind lightening up on those corners a bit though. 🙂

 
9 thoughts on “Wabi Sabi

  1. I think you have made a good start on those corners with your poem; it’s quite undone! Creatively undone, you understand. Do I? Not sure, but it was great fun. Have you tried Book spine poetry? And I have been missing your inspired presence; seems like you have been away for ages although that is probably just my imagination. I like Jazz sometimes. One of my favourite musicians is Sadao Watanabe. Now I will listen to Miles for a while.

  2. Your post has been in the back of my mind for a couple of days. As you know, I was going through all of my “stuff” and came across something that I had picked up to watch “later.” I forgot all about it, naturally, because it was in the back of a bookcase. It turns out that I have “Jazz” by Ken Burns. So that I going to be something that I am going to watch this coming month. It seems that “later” has arrived, all because I read your post. You have a way of bringing out the music…

Leave a Reply

