Music and non-movement

Well now.  Any of you out there who are big Mendelssohn fans must have been thinking ‘oh good, she’s reached the M’s – she’ll be doing good old Felix any day now’.

Well there’s good news and bad news:

1.  Here’s the post 🙂

2.  It’s not looking good for old Felix after all 😦

What?  How can this be?  One of the most famous composers of all time?  Our beloved writer of the wedding march?  Fingals Cave and all that?

Yes I know – I was a surprised as you.  Here’s the thing…..

The only music by Mendelssohn actually on my iPhone was originally his symphony number 4 in A Major (‘The Italian’).  If you care to click on this YouTube link, I’ll bet anything you like you’ll recognise the opening bars, so famous is this light, breezy work.

Clearly this is a most pleasant piece of music.  It’s very short – only about 30 minutes long.  But I kept finding my concentration wandering while I was trying to listen to it.  It did not grab me.  My brain refused for some reason to be engaged.  I was not moved.

Most unexpected.

So in a slight deviation from the Project LT rules of ‘no new music’, I decided to listen to some other Mendelssohn which we had in our CD collection but which was not on my iPhone – his 3rd symphony in A minor and ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’, the latter which includes the movement entitled the wedding march.  What would happen?  Would I find the same effect (or non-effect?).

I’m sorry to report that, yes, I remained unmoved.  Oh Dear.  I know that one can’t like everything.  But really – Mendelssohn?

Perhaps it is just as well.  A bit like not perservering with reading a book that one is not getting on with – life’s just too short and there are plenty of other things to be enjoying, as I have found out while writing this blog.  Onwards, dear friends.

8 thoughts on “Music and non-movement

  1. Admiration plus……to be able to leave it and move on to other things. I am one of those who struggles on with a book even if I am not enjoying it very much. I think it’s got something to do with the “eat up your vegetables, or you won’t get any pudding” mindset.

  2. You brought up an excellent point! Something that I have given thought to all day. We are afraid to say how we really feel about a piece of music when everyone else says how wonderful it is. It happens in art, literature, and music. I may look at a painting and consider it something a child would create, while others consider it to be the most profound and moving endeavor. It comes down to personal preference. And I think that we should be able to put forward our opinions, with all due respect, without fearing the opinion of others. I recognize the artistry, yet I may not enjoy it as much as something else.Your posts always make me think!!! Thank you…

    1. Thank you back! I think one of the many things I have enjoyed about writing this blog is working out what I think about a piece of music and then communicating it (what feels like bravely!) to the world. And I don’t mind at all if people have a different view – that just makes life interesting.

  3. Such interesting points made by all in the previous comments and in your post.

    And I wonder if sometimes we’ve heard certain pieces too much or in mundane situations and it’s muted our ability to enjoy it. This has happened to me with Vivaldi’s 4 seasons. Sadly, it now reminds me of being in the supermarket, and I cannot listen to it.

Leave a Reply

