A simple offering

How does a chatty blog about music respond to a tragic event like that in Connecticut, USA?  I have found it difficult, well impossible actually, to produce any posts in the last few days because the music to which I am due to listen is too cheerful and/or not appropriate in the circumstances.

I should have known that my friends around the blogging world would in some way have the answer.

Clanmother included a great quote in a comment on one of my recent posts by Aldous Huxley:

“After silence, that which comes closest to expressing the inxpressible is music.”

How apt, and so perfectly timed.

The music which has been filling my head while I have been processing the news about what happened in Newtown is the Lacrimosa from W A Mozart’s Requiem in D Minor.  The whole work is stunning, but the Lacrimosa is particularly beautiful.  It is lilting and ethereal, but also has majesty and might.  As such, it feels as if it is not of this world and perhaps helps in times when one is finding it hard to comprehend how or why something has happened.

We so often have a sound track for our life imposed on us – through the TV, in shops, in restaurants.  When you notice that everything has stopped, listen again – I’m sure you can catch the strains of your very own score in the distance.

My thoughts are with all the families affected by the Newtown tragedy.

9 thoughts on “A simple offering

  1. Excellent; your choice of music and the suggestion to stop and listen for our own soundtrack. I am too musically inept to hear something brilliant but my soundtrack at the moment is the old hymn ,”What a friend we have in Jesus”, and it is driving my son INSANE because I sing it all the time. The importance of the hymn is not so much the words, I have decided, but that the tune relates to a very happy childhood. Associations are in play. Sadly, those little ones in Connecticut will never have that choice to sing their old songs.

Leave a Reply

