POP-ular!

What do gold hot pants, a long-running Australian soap-opera, and the expression ‘pop-princess’ have in common?

Yes folks – it’s Kylie Time!!!

Is it ever not Kylie Time?  Is there ever not a time when listening to cheerful, harmless, quality pop music cannot lift the spirits, or maintain a pleasing mood if one’s spirits are already sufficiently elevated?

OK, I will accept that we have a scale of harmlessness and, yes even of quality.  Listening to the 94 Kylie tracks which I have, I am forced to admit that some are better than others, even though this pains me somewhat.  Why so?  Because I think of Kylie as untouchable, invincible, other-wordly.  I don’t mean in a ‘perfect Barbie’ kind of way.  Just in terms of ‘a producer of cracking pop songs’.

My sister and I have seen Kylie twice in concert – both times at London’s Wembley Arena.  We were quite far back each time (how exactly do people get near the front at these venues?), but even so, they were brilliant shows.  The spectacle, the costumes, the singing and dancing,  the campness of it all.  Fabulous.  And our opportunity to wear pink cowboy hats outlined with glitter and feathers will never be forgotten.

As I work my way through the many tracks on my iPhone, I try to bring a bit of forensic analysis to this idea of ‘some being better than others’.  Which are they, and in what proportion?  I have quite a few of Kylie’s albums – her Ultimate Collection, released in 2004, and all her subsequent albums up to and including her latest, Aphrodite, released in 2010.  So I can cover a significant amount of Kylie ground.

The first thing I found was that there are a handful which I absolutely love:

  • Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
  • In Your Eyes
  • Spinning Around
  • On A Night Like This
  • Disco Down
  • Kids
  • I Believe In You
  • Please Stay
  • All The Lovers
  • Closer
  • Cupid Boy

In addition, I discovered plenty more tracks which are purely and simply a great listen.  And so I decided – to hell with scientific examinations!  We’re not talking about anything here which is trying to be more than it sets out to be.  It’s just great pop music and I’m happy to tip my hat at that, what ever colour it might be.

2 thoughts on “POP-ular!

  1. When “I Can’t Get You Out of My Head” first came out, my boyfriend and I used to play it really loud in our flat while we got dressed for dinner. We would dance and sing and be very silly and then go out for a lovely night out with friends.

    I think that’s one of the appealing things about pop – it allows us to be quite silly at times (funny, I accidentally wrote “appalling” at first….)

    1. I love this story and the image of you and your boyfriend prancing around being silly before going out. I also love the appalling/appealing thing – both work well don’t they :). I completely agree that silliness for adults is the ultimate gift of pop.

Leave a Reply

