Keep dancing

Way back when I was still buried in the ‘B’s, I wrote a post about two tracks which I had downloaded to reminded me of a couple of dances relating to TV shows, one of which was the BBC’s Strictly Come Dancing.

Today’s post is about another such track – Kenny Roger’s If I Were A Painting.

I don’t have any other music by Mr Rogers.  He is of course a major recording star, although I only know a few of his hits like Lucille (all together now… 🙂 )

Anyway, back to Strictly.  The track in question was used for a waltz danced by celebrity Gethin Jones and his professional partner Camilla Dallerup – here is a YouTube link for you to see what I am blethering on about.  I thought it was not only a beautiful dance to a beautiful song.  But just take a look at her wonderful dress – that back!  Those cuffs!  So gorgeous.  (Forgive me if that’s a bit too girly, chaps.)

Strictly Coming Dancing is a wonderful show as a whole.  It is in its 10th year in the UK.  As I said in my previous ‘Guilty Pleasures’ post, I am a huge fan. I love the dancing, of course.  I love the glitz and glamour. It’s all fabulous, and much of the time it’s one big party.  But every so often, quiet moments of magical enchantment like this particular dance come along to melt our hearts.  I had previously thought that friends outside the UK could view it on the BBC’s iPlayer, but I gather this is not the case – sorry about that. But the format has been franchised to many countries around the world and the principle stands.

There are a range of vicarious pleasures to be had from watching dancing.  Mr Tracks and I went to the theatre recently to see the most magnificent production of 42nd Street.  Oh my goodness, that cast could tap!  And we have by co-incidence watched in the last week or so that fabulous classic musical Singing In the Rain.  Now talk about precision dancing and attention to detail.  Some of the numbers in that film – Make ‘Em Laugh, Good Morning and Singing In the Rain itself of course – are a sight to behold and I have been humming excerpts ever since.

Kenny Rogers’ portrait on his canvas was lonely because his partner had left him shattered and alone.  The Strictly experience, on the other hand, makes us all feel like one big family, totally caught up in the highs and lows of each couple’s fortunes.  That’s quite an achievement for a simple TV programme, isn’t it.  And the association between the Rogers track and the dance turns it, for me, from something melancholy into something which takes me to a happy place.  I wonder what Gene Kelly would think about the Strictly concept these days – I’m guessing he would approve of anything which encouraged more people to dance and I reckon we’d all be queuing up behind him, with or without our tap shoes on.

6 thoughts on “Keep dancing

  1. Beautiful; agreed. Funny that you have just watched Singing in the Rain. Did you get the connection with my post on Moses’s Supposition? And yes, it’s really sad we can’t see BBC programmes on iPlayer.

  2. Sorry, there isn’t really an obvious connection between my post and Singing in the Rain. I learned Moses Supposes long before I saw the film, Singing in the Rain. But when I think of Singing in the Rain I always think of Moses Supposes and vice versa.

    1. Your ‘Moses’ post is beautiful – thank you for pointing it out to me. I did not know it before the film, but it is fabulous, isn’t it. It is a fond memory for me too because my gorgeous nephew, Mitchel, learnt it when he was very young and we used to sing it together at the top of our voices, accompanied by certain of the dance movements and hand claps etc. This was a particular achievement because Mitchel has learning difficulties and could not form proper words for a long time, but he got such pleasure from this sort of thing.

  3. Dance has so many genre … Although I marvel at the creativity of many of today’s contemporary dances, the classics as Gene Kelly and Fred Astaire remain special. Meanwhile for us, Dancing with the Stars (US) got us into ballroom.

Leave a Reply

