Happenstance

It’s one of my favourite words.  You can see a definition here courtesy of the Oxford English Dictionary – one of my favourite books.

I have not been doing much blogging recently.  This is mainly due to an unprecedentedly demanding work schedule.  But I think it also has something to do with the fact that every time I started to try to listen to the next album in the list, it just did not float my boat.

Instead of having what I felt would be some fabulous music to listen to and write about, it so happened that I had to grind my way through Employment by the Kaiser Chiefs.  This was compounded by the fact that the opening bars of the opening track are some kind of techno pop-punding noise which I just want to switch off straight away.

And so it came to pass that the happenstance of busy-ness and the Kaiser Chiefs conspired to keep me away from Project LT for a couple of weeks.

Having now listened to both Kaiser Chief albums in my iTunes listing, the other one being Yours Truly, Angry Mob, it occured to me that things would have been very different if I had turned to this one first instead of Employment.  The first track on Yours Truly is a great, oomfy track called Ruby.  It’s a fantastic listen in itself, but it also happens to remind me of my beautiful neice Lucy.  Now six years old, she was only one when this song was released in 2007 and I can remember my sister substituting ‘Lucy, Lucy, Lucy’ at the top of her voice for the real words, singing along with Lucy’s brother Mitchel.  Great fun.

The first track leads into a second splendid listen.  The Angry Mob is a rocky, poppy, beefy song which is in touch with its feminine side through a divine driving tambourine line.  And so it goes on.  Turns out, the whole album is essential listening, with great musicality and lyrics to match.  How could you resist ‘Love’s not a competition (but I’m not winning)’?

And of course, once I was on a ‘Kaiser Chiefs roll’, it made it a whole lot easier to go back to Employment.  Not nearly as good as Yours Truly, but rather more listenable to than I had first thought, so that’s a bonus.

Life’s full of these small decisions which affect our journey one way or the other, isn’t it.  Most of the time we don’t notice, or can’t know about the consequences of choices we have not taken.  In this case, however, I can be sure that I would have been writing this post a whole lot sooner if I had simply picked one album instead of another.  It’s no big deal in the grand scheme of things.  But hey – at least both of them are now out of the box and not competing with Schrodinger’s cat.

5 thoughts on “Happenstance

  1. I’ve never heard of Kaiser Chiefs so am quite curious now.

    I feel the same way about authors. I might be introduced to one through one book and not be particularly moved but then be persuaded to read another book and fall in love with that same author. Beautifully written post.

    Hope your work schedule quiets down a bit soon!

    1. Thank you for this. And yes, I agree that it works for books too. I am pleased to say that work is getting very much quieter – and glad that things are very much less windy for you 🙂

  2. I have actually hated a piece of music, a band, lyrics. And I have hated an author, a book, a story…And I have a tendency to shout out my opinions to every one who happens to pass by – and I have actually stopped people on the street to take a random survey of their thoughts so I could rely my disappointment. Problem is, I have eaten humble pie many, many, many times!!! But I have met friends along the way that have a forgiving heart.

    Have been missing you –

Leave a Reply

