Giddy Up

Regular readers of this blog may, I think, have come to discern a LeapingTracks pattern of music buying:

  1. Hear and like a particular track
  2. Buy a whole album with it on
  3. Never listen to that album again

Until now of course.

And today we have yet another example of me reverting to type with the good offices of Groove Armada.

I got hooked on their track I See You Baby not as a result of a very high profile advertisement for a Renault Car back in 2003 but a year or so later when it became a sort of anthem for one of the best training courses I have ever attended – and I have been on quite a few.

(I suppose I should add as a brief aside that I have not done a lot of courses because I am rubbish at my job; but my employer, for whom I have worked for over 20 years, provides excellent developmental opportunities, and I am all for embracing them – the opportunities that is, and not my employer – with open arms.)

I'm glad we have got all of that cleared up.

So, back to the music.

Groove Armada is an English electronic music duo. I have their Greatest Hits album (2004) and I have to admit to being very pleasantly surprised by it. I was expecting some kind of mega-bass/Ibiza party/brain-dead endless funk thing (à la Ministry of Sound – or at least my perception of it).

But not a bit of it. Some of the tracks are very harmonious and chilled – At The River and Think Twice in particular. And I love Inside My Mind which includes a gentle and distant sample of Irving Berlin's Blue Skies.

At the other end of the scale, there are tracks which are 'shakin' that ass' groovy and toe tappin' – If Everybody Looked The Same and My Friend are my favourites, in addition to the aforementioned I See You Baby.

So I'm a happy bunny – once again Project LT has liberated a previously unknown gem from my iTunes list. A nice way to mark the end of the 'G-Gs'. We're romping along nicely, aren't we.

 

3 thoughts on “Giddy Up

    1. What a lovely comment, thank you. It has been wonderful to do this blog and really think about the music I have been listening to – asking myself, ok what do I think about this and how can I put it in to words. I’m glad it seems to be working!

Leave a Reply

