It’s the simple things in life….

I’m a big fan of Henry Thoreau and would love to have a go at ‘doing a Walden’.  It wouldn’t be quite the same of course because I would want to take Mr Tracks with me.  But I’m sure I would still get the benefit.

Anyhow, there are plenty of opportunities to enjoy the simple pleasures of just having time out in the open air, enjoying all that nature has to offer – especially here in the glorious part of the world where we live – I don’t think I have ever mentioned how fabulous Edinburgh, and Scotland are, have I….? 😉 .

Mr Tracks and I had a day off together today and took the chance to spend some time heading East out of Edinburgh along the North coast, where we have the most fabulous sweeping beaches.  We stopped at a number of places, but spent the most time at a glorious place called Gullane.

Here’s a small sense of what it looks like:

And

Fab, huh?

We went down onto the beach for a lovely stroll and a bit of bird watching.  There were plenty of oystercatchers, some godwits (probably bar-tailed, but possibly black-tailed – it was a bit too windy to tell).  Here’s a picture of one single oystercatcher for the record.  It’s very grainy because I took it with my ‘point and press’ camera, rather than it being a proper photo by Mr Tracks and his mega cannon-thing.  But I like it because I think it looks a bit like a Monet picture, and I think it also gives a sense of the rather persistent breeze which accompanied us along the shoreline!

And for the romantics among you….

When we got back to Gullane itself, we stopped in this glorious little cafe.  No outing would be complete without a visit to a tea-shop, now would it?

Gullane’s Village Coffee Shop comes highly recommended by us – so pop in whenever you next find yourself in the area!

Back home, with that tight feeling on my skin that one gets after a day on the coast, and a happy heart from a lovely day out, my thoughts return back to Thoreau.  What might he have said over a nice cup of tea if we were sharing stories about our respective days?  Well one of the things he said in Walden was ‘Nature spontaneously keeps us well.  Do not resist her!’.  That seems to me to be excellent advice and I can’t wait to get back out again some time soon.

8 thoughts on “It’s the simple things in life….

    1. Thank you so much. I was really pleased that they came out so well to be such a good memory of a lovely day. And isn’t it always a bonus to spot something like that shell – a little present from nature!

  1. I think of Scotland every time my son plays his bagpipes. And I cannot think of any other place on earth that would make a better Walden. I share your love for Thoreau… “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” Henry David Thoreau

    1. What a great contribution, as ever, thank you. I love the sound of bagpipes – either a lone piper or massed bands – makes the hairs stand up on the back of the neck! And another great Thoreau quote. I’ve been thinking this morning about his entreaty to ‘simplify, simplify’ – so helpful.

Leave a Reply

