Is it me?

Today I’m in need of some help.  From my lovely fellow blogger musicalduffer perhaps.  Or my rocking sometime commentator, singer1701.  And maybe even Colin?  Or any of you fabulous folk who stop by LT Towers, thanks very much.

Because I have been listening a number of times to three solitary tracks from Foo Fighters and trying very hard to get my head around them.

And failing.

I received these tracks – Alandria, Everlong and Walk via last year’s iTunes ’12 Days of Christmas’ giveaway.

Now, call me a luddite, but I know very little about this band.  I can see from Wikipedia that they are essentially a Nirvana descendent.  OK.  And the tracks get off to pretty good starts – I’m thinking along U2-esque lines, which is fine.  But then we plummet into walls of sound with, it seems to me, very little in the way of redeeming features.

Or am I missing something?  I am happy to be corrected.  I am also happy to receive recommendations for the wish list to help me get back on whatever straight-and-narrow anyone thinks I should be on.

But for now, let me tell you what a relief it has constantly been when the third track finishes and iTunes moves its own sweet way on to the next in the list – Frank Sinatra’s I’ve Got You Under My Skin.  I’ve never been so happy to hear Ol’ Blue Eyes.

Speaking of which, I have discovered that I seem to have the world’s largest collection of Sinatra music.  Goodness knows how that has happened.  So if you don’t see a post from me for a couple of days, will someone please send out the Mob to come get me….

4 thoughts on “Is it me?

  1. Ah ha, the old Foo Fighters conundrum.
    I’ve been quite a fan of that type of music over the years and Nirvana’s Nevermind is an all time classic album but the Foo Fighters just don’t do it for me.
    I know they’re a fabulous live band and I guess that’s where they make their money, in common with most bands nowadays. I suspect that for that reason they write with stadium performances in mind and it doesn’t translate so well in a studio environment. Their last album was recorded in ‘Dave’s garage’ and maybe that also suggests they’re still trying to better capture their live vibe.
    Move on, there are much better attempts, Govt Mule for example.

    1. Ah, Colin, I knew I could rely on you to help me out. And how glad I am to hear that my own instincts were not so wide of the mark after all. I shall indeed take your wise advice and happily move on. Thank you!

  2. This is what you call ironic, because I cannot stand Frank! His gangster, macho personality and his cheesey, macho, come on music. Plus they are always playing it….in Italian restaraunts, the grocery store. I can’t get away from ol blue eyes……Funny! Cheers to you and love your posts!

    1. Thank you so much Cindy – you are so dedicated, working your way through all my posts! I know what you mean about dear old Frankie, but he was such a relief after those Foo Fighters, I can tell you! Cheers back.

Leave a Reply

