Eau de Fringe – the Grande Finale

Oh my word, my goodness, my gracious me.  What an amazing summer we have had here in Edinburgh.

You may recall that a couple of weeks ago, Mr Tracks and I were in the midst of our magnificent Fringe and Festival extravaganza.  Since that post, we saw many more performances by talented, funny and creative people which were so energising and inspiring.  At the last count, Mr Tracks had been to 56 events; I had managed 47.  Not bad!

Our last outing was to the ballet with some of our lovely Edinburgh friends.  Sigh.  Swoon.  What a finale we picked.

It was not just any ballet.  The Mariinsky Ballet Company (known also as the Kirov), described as ‘one of the finest classical ballet companies in the world’, were performing Cinderalla to Prokofiev’s music.

And what a performance!  What a production.  What beauty.  Sumptiousness.  Grace.  Talent.  Strength.  Wit.  Charm.  Utter delight and wonder.  Here’s a review to back me up.

I love the ballet anyway.  I am always in awe of the dancers and their achievements.  I love the sound of their feet on the stage.  I love the graciousness of the whole thing.

And how fabulous that this particular performance should in addition happen to sum up everything that we had been experiencing throughout the Fringe and Festival.

To top it all off, we watched the traditional end of festival fireworks display a couple of days later from our apartment with our beloved Edinburgh cousins.  Here’s one of Mr Tracks’ photos for your delictation (you can see the castle lit up in the background):

So that’s it for another year.  We have been thoroughly spoilt.  I am aware how very lucky we are to have access to such riches and am glad that we have been able to make the very most of it all.

5 thoughts on “Eau de Fringe – the Grande Finale

    1. Yes, it seems like some kind of secret and delicious insight into the magic and charm of the performance. It reminds us briefly of the reality of the dance – the strength needed, the hours of practice, the pain behind the beauty – ah the beauty – and we are then just as easily hypnotised back into the glorious illusion of the effortless performance and all is well… 🙂

  1. Your comment on my blog made me laugh! I’m not posting it because I’ve deleted Neil’s link so it won’t make sense to others but you don’t have to delete your files- Neil won’t mind, I’m sure – he’s a sweetheart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

