For better or for worse

This post is dedicated to my darling Mr Tracks.

This is because it is time to talk about the music of Enya. I have two of her albums – Enya (The Celts) and Shepherd Moons. She is an Irish singer, instrumentalis and songwriter who produces evocative, synthesised folk-like music which, in my view, is very listenable-to and pleasant.

Now, some of my long-suffering followers may recall an early post where I mentioned the fact that Mr Tracks is rather turned-off by the music of composer Harrison Birtwistle. You may be surprised to learn that an equally violent reposte may be generated by the gentle strains of poor Enya. How can this be so?

On the one hand, we have the likes of ‘panic‘.

On the other hand, we have ‘Carribean Blue‘.

The two could not be more different could they?

And why might I dedicate a post to him when it is about music he does not like?

It is our 18th wedding anniversary on Monday 3 September 2012. It matters to me not a jot that he has lumped such vastly different types of music in his own personal room 101. Nor do I care that he dislikes Enya’s music so much in any event. After all, he likes Winifred Attwell and Russ Conway’s music, which I can’t stand.

A good marriage is not about two people being the same, or liking the same things. On the contrary, it is the ability to tolerate and celebrate each other’s differences that is so important. As my wise blogging friend, Clanmother, has been exploring in her recent posts, a strong marriage is also about supporting and sustaining each other through life’s journey. It is about having fun together and enjoying precious moments along the way.

And as Dinah Craick wrote in A Life for a Life in 1859 “Oh, the comfort — the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person — having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all right out, just as they are, chaff and grain together; certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and then with the breath of kindness blow the rest away.”

So, my beloved Mr Tracks, thank you for being the generous provider of all these things so magnificently. Thank you for being the person who has walked alongside me in sickness and in health these past, glorious eighteen years. May there be many more to come.

I love you.

3 thoughts on “For better or for worse

  1. Beautifully written! Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary. Enya is amazing and your quote on “faithful hand…” is written in my journal that rests on my desk….! Thank you!!

  2. I knew Enya would be coming up soon and I was ready to hold forth, but your delightful words simply took my breath away. A thing you do and have done each day since the day I first met you. Here’s to being breathless!

Leave a Reply

