A long and winding road?

Sir Elton Hercules John CBE.

Perhaps I don’t need to write any more than that?  Are Elton John and his music so well known that there is nothing more to be added?  Is he one of those artists whose music everyone has in their collection?

I have a compilation album – Greatest Hits 1970-2002.  I haven’t played it for ages of course.  But he and his music are all around us in general, aren’t they.  I saw EJ on TV performing at major events recently, such as the jubilee concert for Her Majesty the Queen and it was not his finest musical hour in my view.  Quite a contrast with his performance at the concert I saw live in Birmingham, UK around 1990-ish – now that was cracking, but I accept that it was over 20 years ago!

Overall, I prefer the older stuff – Rocket Man, Crockodile Rock, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road are legendary.  Fast forward to the more recent output – I’m not a big fan of the music which accompanied films etc being treated as standalone pieces.  Circle of Life for example is great in situ, but loses its power as a track on its own.  And everything in between?  It’s quite a mixed bag – some arguably decent ballads like I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues alongside rather dated 80s-style oddballs like Nikita.

Of course, there are tons more tracks I could write about – he has sold 250 million records for goodness sake, making him one of the most successful artists of all time.  But I am inclined towards the ‘less is more’ end of things here.  It’s interesting to see EJ’s musical journey but I’m happy to take the yellow brick road back to the start and cherry pick a few early tracks to remain in my collection.

Leave a Reply

