I’m free (I hope)!

When I was younger, Dire Straits always seemed like a very grown up band to like. I’m not sure why. But if my friends listened to their music, it seemed to me to be a bit pretentious. Along with bands like Fleetwood Mac and Pink Floyd. You know, those small little indie bands of the 70s and 80s that no-one was really supporting.

Nowadays, these mighty bands are for me in the same category as many classic films. I feel as if I should at least know about their music. I also feel a tiny bit under societal pressure to like them because, well, goodness me, Dire Straits – are you kidding? I might be saying I don’t much care for the Beatles next and then where would we be?

So, I have their Very Best Of (1999) album – two CDs of all their greatest hits, including some live versions.  And I have to say it’s like listening to music royalty.  I feel like doffing my cap as each track rolls round.  Do I dare have the temerity to say that I’m not that partial to the Grammy Award Winning song Money for Nothing for example?  Or a DS staple such as Sultans of Swing?

But wait!  It’s not all bad.  I do really like their slower stuff.  Brothers in Arms and Private Investigations can truly said to be masterpieces.  And if we were to pick any film classic, Local Hero (1983) would be as good a candidate as any, along with its DS title track.

As I have said before, we can’t all like everything all the time.  I can’t tell you how liberating it is feels finally to be putting this into practice by sorting out my iPhone so that I can listen only to those tracks that I want to, rather than anything I think I should listen to.  But if there are no more LT posts after this one, you will know I have been thrown in the Tower for heresy.

Leave a Reply

