Music on the rocks?

The first offering to be listened to under C on my Project LT journey is The Classic Chillout Album 2 (2001). This is a two-disk compliation album with a pretty eclectic mix of tracks.

Now, I have to say that I am forced to ask myself what a ‘chillout album’ is aiming to achieve. I think when I bought it (ages ago) I was expecting music that would be relaxing. I guess that one person’s relaxing music is another’s heavy beat. And to be fair, there are many vibes and grooves to contrast with the few tracks that could never be said to be chilled, even if they have been in the freezer. There are also slightly too many tracks which are electric versions of classical works, such as Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, and Vivaldi’s Rejouissance.

Having said all of this, there are a small number of specific tracks which float my boat, as it were. One particular high point is the track Lovely Head by Goldfrapp. Possibly one of my all time favourite songs. And I’ve a bit of a soft spot for Moby’s Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?. Another couple to add to my top rated tracks list – we haven’t had any of those for a while, have we?

So I must confess to being pleasantly wound down, if not totally chilled, as a result of listening to this album. I’m open to suggestions as to anything which might be more effective (musically speaking, of course 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

