Your hair is beautiful….

…..One of the stranger lines from my favourite Blondie track ever – Atomic. I could listen to this over and over again. I’m not such a fan of all the tracks on my Best of Blondie (1990) album, but the majority of them bring back happy memories of their original release in the late seventies/early eighties. Songs such as Heart of Glass, Dreaming, and Rapture are still very listenable to.

I also have Blondie’s later album No Exit (1999) – the band released this when they re-formed after nearly 15 years apart. I bought this on the strength of the single Maria and it turns out to be the only track on the album which I like. This one is reminiscent of Blondie’s former work. The rest of the album is, frankly, just strange and shrieky.

It is often a bit of a disappointment when bands re-form, isn’t it. The one exception I can think of where a band’s music is better the second time around is Take That – we can talk more about that when we get to ‘T’. Meanwhile, I will only need to keep one album and one track in my Blondie listing from now on.

Leave a Reply

