Guilty pleasures

OK, time for a quiz. Do I like watching:

a) Strictly Come Dancing; or

b) The World Snooker Championships?

A trick question of course, because the fact is, I like both. Strange but true.

And why am I linking these two apparently random programmes? It is not just to continue the emerging theme of randomness in recent posts. Rather, it is because they are responsible for the existence of both the next two tracks on my iPhone. How spooky that they should show up together in the listings.

First, we have Betty Boo’s Where Are You Baby? taken from the Boomania album (1990). This track was played by the BBC during the World Snooker Championships a few years ago between matches when they did short profiles on past players. It is a very catchy song and I took a shine to it. Listening to it again now, I still rather like it – it’s fun. And why do I like watching the snooker championships? I’m not quite sure. I don’t watch any other snooker at any other time. There’s just something about this tournament which seems unmissable.

Second, is Beyonce with Crazy In Love (2003). This music was used by Alesha Dixon and Matthew Cutler in 2007 for their Cha Cha Cha. It is quite possibly one of my favourite Strictly dances of all time – take a look for yourself. Isn’t it fabulous? So the track is a kind of souvenir – and not a bad one at that. I have watched every single series of Strictly. Not sure how many that is, but it seems a lot. The dancing, costumes and music are all wonderful. But most of all, I love the heroism, the striving for excellence and the creativity of it all. It’s lump in the throat territory.

There are plenty of other guilty pleasures to come in Project LT. How about you – anything you would like to confess?

Leave a Reply

